· 

I'm Not The Girl Who Misses Much by Pipilotti Rist

Pipilotti Rist, I'm Not The Girl Who Misses Much, still, 1986
Pipilotti Rist, I'm Not The Girl Who Misses Much, still, 1986

Pipilotti (Elisabeth) Rist (Swiss 1962) is a visual artist. She is best known for creating experiential video art and installation art that often portray self-portraits and singing. Her work is often described as surreal, intimate, abstract art, having a preoccupation with the female body. Her artwork is often categorized as feminist art. In a 2011 Guardian exhibition review article, Rist describes her feminism: "Politically," she says, "I am a feminist, but personally, I am not. For me, the image of a woman in my art does not stand just for women: she stands for all humans. I hope a young guy can take just as much from my art as any woman." 


This is a still motion shot of a woman pulling up her dress, it seems to be on videotape, and certainly brings me back to a day where the ability to stop motion of a video in your own home was quite impressive. https://pipilottirist.net